Get to Know Our Executive Team




O. Bruton Smith
Executive Chairman, Director

Mr. O. Bruton Smith is the Founder of Sonic and has served as Sonic's Executive Chairman since July 2015.  Prior to his appointment as Executive Chairman, Mr. Smith had served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Company since its organization in January 1997.  Mr. Smith has also served as a director of Sonic since its organization in January 1997.  Mr. Smith is also a director of many of Sonic's subsidiaries.  Mr. Smith has worked in the retail automobile industry since 1966.  Mr. Smith is also the Executive Chairman and a director of Speedway Motorsports, Inc. ("SMI").  Among other things, SMI owns and operates the following NASCAR racetracks: Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Kentucky Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Sonoma Raceway and Texas Motor Speedway.

David Bruton Smith
Chief Executive Officer, Director

Mr. David Bruton Smith was appointed to the office of Chief Executive Officer of Sonic in September 2018. Prior to this, Mr. Smith has served as Executive Vice Chairman and Chief Strategic Officer of Sonic since March 2018.  Prior to this, Mr. Smith has served as Sonic's Vice Chairman since March 2013.  He has served as Executive Vice President and a director of Sonic since October 2008 and has served in Sonic's organization since 1998.  Prior to being named a director and Executive Vice President in 2008, Mr. Smith served as Sonic's Senior Vice President of Corporate Development since March 2007.  Mr. Smith served as Sonic's Vice President of Corporate Strategy from October 2005 to March 2007, and also served prior to that time as Dealer Operator and General Manager of several Sonic dealerships.  

Jeff Dyke
President, Director

Mr. Jeff Dyke was appointed to the office of President of Sonic in September 2018 and is responsible for direct oversight for all of Sonic's retail automotive operations. In addition, Mr. Dyke has been a director of Sonic since July 2019. Prior to this, Mr. Dyke has served as our Executive Vice President of Operations since October 2008. From March 2007 to October 2008, Mr. Dyke served as our Division Chief Operating Officer - Southeast Division, where he oversaw retail automotive operations for the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas. Mr. Dyke first joined Sonic in October 2005 as our Vice President of Retail Strategy, a position that he held until April 2006, when he was promoted to Division Vice President - Eastern Division, a position he held from April 2006 to March 2007. Prior to joining Sonic, Mr. Dyke worked in the automotive retail industry at AutoNation, Inc. from 1996 to 2005, where he held several positions in divisional, regional and dealership management with that company. 

Heath R. Byrd
Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer 

Mr. Heath R. Byrd has served as our Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer since April 2013. Mr. Byrd was previously a Vice President and our Chief Information Officer from December 2007 to March 2013, and has served our organization since 2007. Prior to joining Sonic, Mr. Byrd served in a variety of management positions at HR America, Inc., a workforce management firm that provided customized human resource and workforce development through co-sourcing arrangements, including as a director, as President and Chief Operating Officer and as Chief Financial Officer and Chief Information Officer. Prior to HR America, Inc., Mr. Byrd served as a Manager in the Management Consulting Division of Ernst & Young LLP. 


We use cookies and browser activity to improve your experience, personalize content and ads, and analyze how our sites are used. For more information on how we collect and use this information, please review our Privacy Policy. California consumers may exercise their CCPA rights here.

#* #inline() jQuery(function ($) {
#* #inline() jQuery(function ($) {